Official Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®


Need An Account?

It's free and takes about a minute.


Official Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®

Rawlings Gold Glove Announcement Show

Back to News
Rawlings Gold Glove Announcement Show

ESPN2 to broadcast exclusive show unveiling MLB recipients Tuesday, October 30th

ST. LOUIS, MO - October 29, 2012 - Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. a subsidiary of Jarden Corporation (NYSE: JAH), today announced that for the second consecutive year, ESPN2 will air the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® Announcement Show on Tuesday, October 30, 2012, at 9:30pm ET/8:30pm CT. The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards honor the best individual fielding performances at each position in the American League™ and National League™, as voted by major-league managers and coaches.

Guest presenters Sandy Alomar, Jr. and National Baseball Hall of Fame inductees Andre Dawson and Ozzie Smith will unveil the winners during the announcement show.

Changes implemented into the award program last year remain for 2012, including the separation of the three outfield positions and the unveiling of the top-three finalists plus ties at each position.

A number of players are vying for the designation as the best defender at his position, including 21 past recipients and 11 reigning Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners. The Cincinnati Reds™ lead all teams with six finalists, including reigning Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners Brandon Phillips and Joey Votto. The battle for National League pitcher includes three former winners of the award: Cincinnati's Bronson Arroyo (2010 NL winner), Miami's Mark Buehrle (3-time AL winner with the Chicago White Sox™) and defending NL winner, Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers™.

The longest, active consecutive streak of Rawlings Gold Glove Award wins belongs to St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina with four, beginning in 2008.

Each manager and up to six (6) coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their League, and cannot vote for players on their own team. The 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists are:


PosPlayer2012 Team
P Jeremy HellicksonTampa Bay Rays™

Jake PeavyChicago White Sox™

C.J. WilsonLos Angeles Angels™ of Anaheim

CAlex AvilaDetroit Tigers™

Russell MartinNew York Yankees™

A.J. PierzynskiChicago White Sox™

Matt WietersBaltimore Orioles™

1BAdrian GonzalezBoston Red Sox™

Eric HosmerKansas City Royals™

Mark TeixeiraNew York Yankees™

2BDustin AckleySeattle Mariners™

Robinson CanoNew York Yankees™

Dustin PedroiaBoston Red Sox™

3BAdrian BeltreTexas Rangers™

Brandon IngeOakland Athletics™

Mike MoustakasKansas City Royals™

SSElvis AndrusTexas Rangers™

J.J. HardyBaltimore Orioles™

Brendan RyanSeattle Mariners™

LFAlex GordonKansas City Royals™

Desmond JenningsTampa Bay Rays™

David MurphyTexas Rangers™

CFAustin JacksonDetroit Tigers™

Adam JonesBaltimore Orioles™

Mike TroutLos Angeles Angels™ of Anaheim

RFShin-Soo ChooCleveland Indians™

Jeff FrancoeurKansas City Royals™

Josh ReddickOakland Athletics™


PosPlayer2012 Team
P Bronson ArroyoCincinnati Reds™

Mark BuehrleMiami Marlins™

Clayton KershawLos Angeles Dodgers™

CYadier MolinaSt. Louis Cardinals™

Miguel MonteroArizona Diamondbacks™

Carlos RuizPhiladelphia Phillies™

1BFreddie FreemanAtlanta Braves™

Adam LaRocheWashington Nationals™

Joey VottoCincinnati Reds™

2BDarwin BarneyChicago Cubs™

Aaron HillArizona Diamondbacks™

Brandon PhillipsCincinnati Reds™

3BChase HeadleySan Diego Padres™

Aramis RamirezMilwaukee Brewers™

David WrightNew York Mets™

SSZack CozartCincinnati Reds™

Ian DesmondWashington Nationals™

Jose ReyesMiami Marlins™

Jimmy RollinsPhiladelphia Phillies™

LFRyan BraunMilwaukee Brewers™

Carlos GonzalezColorado Rockies™

Martin PradoAtlanta Braves™

CFMichael BournAtlanta Braves™

Andrew McCutchenPittsburgh Pirates™

Drew StubbsCincinnati Reds™

RFJay BruceCincinnati Reds™

Andre EthierLos Angeles Dodgers™

Jason HeywardAtlanta Braves™

Following the ESPN2 announcement telecast, voting for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™ will begin at, allowing the general public to weigh in as to who is "The Finest in the Field®" in each League. To determine the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners, fans can only select one player among the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners from each League.

The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners will be unveiled during the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony presented by Gold Sport Collectibles on Friday, November 9, 2012, at The Plaza Hotel in New York City, with Jerry Seinfeld entertaining this year's Rawlings Gold Glove Award recipients and key executives in the industry, and Joe Piscopo serving as the master of ceremonies.