Official Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®


Need An Account?

It's free and takes about a minute.


Official Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®

Nine First-Time Winners

Back to News
Nine First-Time Winners

2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® Winners Announced

ST. LOUIS, MO – November 1, 2011 – Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. a subsidiary of Jarden Corporation (NYSE: JAH), today unveiled the 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners for both the American League™ and National League™ during an hour-long, exclusive telecast on ESPN2’s “Baseball Tonight.” The newest class of winners, recognized as the best defensive players at their respective positions, includes nine, first-time winners, four repeat honorees from 2010 and five former winners of the prestigious award.

This year, Rawlings returned to its original voting format when the award program began in 1957 as Major League Baseball® managers and coaches voted for specific outfield positions rather than grouping all outfielders into one pool of candidates. All four corner outfielders are first-time winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award: left fielders Alex Gordon and Gerardo Parra, and right fielders Nick Markakis and Andre Ethier.

“Similar to how a shortstop cannot be compared accurately to a first baseman, we felt it was time to properly reward corner outfielders for the unique defensive skill it takes to play left field and right field at baseball’s highest level in today’s game,” said Mike Thompson, Senior Vice President of Marketing for St. Louis-based Rawlings. “As defensive is a cornerstone of the Rawlings’ brand, we are proud to recognize the exceptional talent at each unique position and welcome the nine, first-time winners into this exclusive honor roll.”

In the 54-year history of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award, only 302 players have won the defense-specific award. Other first-time winners include: from the American League, shortstop Erick Aybar, center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury and catcher Matt Wieters, and from the National League, pitcher Clayton Kershaw and first baseman Joey Votto.

With Ichiro Suzuki’s 10-year consecutive selections streak coming to an end, Yadier Molina of the 2011 World Champion St. Louis Cardinals™ holds the longest current streak of Rawlings Gold Glove Awards with four.

Rawlings, the #1 worldwide brand in baseball gloves, established the Rawlings Gold Glove Award in 1957 as the greatest measure of fielding excellence. The award is presented annually to 18 players – one for each position – in both the American and National Leagues. Winners are selected by Major League Baseball managers and coaches prior to the conclusion of the regular season. Managers and coaches may not vote for players from their own club and can only vote for players in their own league.

At the conclusion of the special Baseball Tonight show, Rawlings will announce the first-ever Rawlings Platinum Glove Award fan vote, where fans across the country will decide who the best defender is from each League. Voting begins at Rawlings Facebook page ( at the conclusion of the announcement show and will end at 11pm ET/10pm CT on Monday, November 7, 2011.

The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winner from each League will be presented with their trophies during the 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Presentation Ceremony presented by Gold Sport Collectibles on Friday, November 11, 2011, at The Pierre in New York City. In addition to the trophy presentation to this year’s award winners, Ozzie Smith will be inducted into the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Hall of Fame and noted baseball fan Jerry Seinfeld will perform an hour-long show.

Below is the complete roster of 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners from each League, and the number of Rawlings Gold Glove Awards each player has won in his career:


Pos Player 2011 Team Award(s) Won

P Mark Buehrle Chicago White Sox™ 3

C Matt Wieters Baltimore Orioles™ 1

1B Adrian Gonzalez Boston Red Sox™ 3

2B Dustin Pedroia Boston Red Sox™ 2

3B Adrian Beltre Texas Rangers™ 3

SS Erick Aybar Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim™ 1

LF Alex Gordon Kansas City Royals™ 1

CF Jacoby Ellsbury Boston Red Sox™ 1

RF Nick Markakis Baltimore Orioles™ 1


Pos Player 2011 Team Award(s) Won

P Clayton Kershaw Los Angeles Dodgers™ 1

C Yadier Molina St. Louis Cardinals™ 4

1B Joey Votto Cincinnati Reds™ 1

2B Brandon Phillips Cincinnati Reds™ 3

3B Placido Polanco Philadelphia Phillies™ 3

SS Troy Tulowitzki Colorado Rockies™ 2

LF Gerardo Parra Arizona Diamondbacks™ 1

CF Matt Kemp Los Angeles Dodgers™ 2

RF Andre Ethier Los Angeles Dodgers™ 1

About the Rawlings Gold Glove Award®

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award® is a registered trademark owned by Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. The award is correctly identified as the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. The name should not be shortened, abbreviated or otherwise misused. Proper identification of this service mark using the registration symbol and the Rawlings name is important to protect the integrity of the program and perpetuate this worthy tradition. For more information, please visit

About Rawlings

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is a leading manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods in the United States. Since the company’s inception in 1887, Rawlings’ mission has always centered on enabling participation by developing and producing innovative, high-performance equipment and protective apparel for the professional, amateur and entry-level player. With an assortment of baseball, basketball, football and softball game-related product lines, Rawlings is present everywhere team sports are played. Leagues and conferences of all skill levels integrate Rawlings’ unparalleled product portfolio into their sports: as the Official Baseball Supplier and Official Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball for the NCAA®, the official football for the NAIA®, the official basketball for the NAIA, NJCAA® and AAU®, and the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit, Rawlings’ Facebook page or by phone at (314) 819-2800.

About Jarden Corporation

Jarden Corporation is a leading provider of a diverse range of consumer products with a portfolio of over 100 trusted, quality brands sold globally. Jarden operates in three primary business segments through a number of well recognized brands, including: Outdoor Solutions: Abu Garcia®, Aero®, Berkley®, Campingaz® and Coleman®, ExOfficio®, Fenwick®, Gulp!®, K2®, Marker®, Marmot®, Mitchell®, Penn®, Rawlings®, Shakespeare®, Stearns®, Stren®, Trilene®, Völkl® and Zoot®; Consumer Solutions: Bionaire®, Crock-Pot®, FoodSaver®, Health o meter®, Holmes®, Mr. Coffee®, Oster®, Patton®, Rival®, Seal-a-Meal®, Sunbeam®, VillaWare® and White Mountain®; and Branded Consumables: Ball®, Bee®, Bicycle®, Billy Boy®, Crawford®, Diamond®, Dicon®, Fiona®, First Alert®, First Essentials®, Forster®, Hoyle®, Kerr®, Lehigh®, Leslie-Locke®, Lillo®, Loew Cornell®, Mapa®, NUK®, Pine Mountain®, Quickie®, Spontex® and Tigex®. Headquartered in Rye, N.Y., Jarden ranks #379 on the Fortune 500 and has over 25,000 employees worldwide. For in-depth information about Jarden, please visit