History of the Award

In 2011, Rawlings unveiled the first-ever Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, a new fan-centric platform asking the game’s avid fans who the best defensive baseball player is among that season's Rawlings Gold Glove Award® winners. To determine the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners, fans can only select one player among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners from each League.

Rawlings Platinum Glove Award voting – and its open and spirited debate on social media – proved what many believed to be true: fans have a very vocal opinion on who they believe is "the best of the best", and they understand the defensive nuances enough to back their favorite player's candidacy from the point-of-view of a scout and an advance analytics sabermetrician.

In 2013, a new sabermetric component from the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award's new presenting sponsor, the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) and its new SABR Defensive Index™ (SDI™) joined the international fan vote to determine the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners from each league. The SDI's ability to accurately compare players from different positions helped establish the "science" behind the evolving Award platform.


2023 - Fernando Tatis Jr (NL), Andrés Giménez (AL)

2022 - Nolan Arenado (NL), Jose Trevino (AL)

2021 - Nolan Arenado (NL), Carlos Correa (AL)

2020 - Nolan Arenado (NL), Alex Gordon (AL)

2019 - Nolan Arenado (NL), Matt Chapman (AL)

2018 - Nolan Arenado (NL), Matt Chapman (AL)

2017 - Nolan Arenado (NL), Byron Buxton (AL)

2016 - Anthony Rizzo (NL), Francisco Lindor (AL)

2015 - Yadier Molina (NL), Kevin Kiermaier (AL)

2014 - Yadier Molina (NL), Alex Gordon (AL)

2013 - Andrelton Simmons (NL), Manny Machado (AL)

2012 - Yadier Molina (NL), Adrian Beltre (AL)

2011 - Yadier Molina (NL), Adrian Beltre (AL)